Wednesday, February 11, 2015

James Blood Ulmer ‎– Odyssey

James Blood Ulmer ‎– Odyssey
All compositions by James "Blood" Ulmer
  1. "Church" – 4:54
  2. "Little Red House" – 4:45
  3. "Love Dance" – 5:05
  4. "Are You Glad to Be in America?" – 3:40
  5. "Election" – 3:26
  6. "Odyssey" – 5:01
  7. "Please Tell Her" – 4:10
  8. "Swing & Things" – 4:32

James "Blood" Ulmer – guitar, vocals
Charles Burnham – violin
Warren Benbow – drums

Recorded at the Power Station, New York in March–May 1983

Columbia ‎– BFC 38900, 1983

24/96 LP transfer, V0 mp3 download
Ulmer-Odyssey[RPM2015].zip 66.5 MB

24/96 LP transfer, 24/96 FLAC download
Ulmer-Odyssey[RPM2015][FLAC].zip 665.0 MB


  1. ...and another JBU album that Columbia/CBS never bothered to re-release. Thank you, porter_esq, for this fine rip.

    1. It was also available as CD for about 20 minutes... :)

    2. Lucky, I bet this CD was a Japanese edition. The CBS guys in Japan were the only ones who ever gave it a thought (along with "Black Rock" and "Free Lancing"). Same is true for some of the Blythe LPs which were released, for the proverbial 20 minutes, only in Japan. All long oop, of course.

    3. I realized I had a CD-rip, and no, it isn't Japanese:

      It's a Columbia/Legacy issue, dunno why they situate this release in Europe...

      ... but it doesn't make a difference, really. It's never been available as it should be - and the fine host of this blog just helps to change that.

    4. nah - it was this release I was talking about:

      original front + back cover facsimile's included, plus a nice article in the liner notes. The sound is solid, too, digitally remastered. But maybe I should hear the vinyl-rip above before I make final judgements...

    5. Well, waddya know. Thanks, Lucky, for the additional info about the equally elusive non-Japanese CD editions. Thanks!